top of page

Midnight Musings: The Poem

I wrote the following poem late one night; one of the many in which sleep had eluded me. After finally surrendering to the symphony of clanking thoughts banging around my mind, I got out of my bed and padded down the hallway to my children's room. I tiptoed over to their beds to take a glance at their peaceful faces, envious of how quickly and easily they seemed to find sleep. Fighting the urge to climb into their beds and embrace their warm bodies, I pulled myself out of the room, eased into my spot on the couch and opened my laptop. As I started typing the following poem, I noticed that the thoughts swimming around my brain began to still; all my pent up emotions flowing through my fingers and onto the computer. It was only at that point, when my turbulent feelings were stored safely in a poem on my computer, that I gave myself permission to fall back to sleep.

Midnight Musings

A seamless trio of steady breaths intertwine

wafting harmoniously

through the silence.

tranquil sounds linger teasingly

and clash mockingly against my

obscenely alert heartbeats.

clacking keys provide sole camaraderie

as night sky turns opaque and

loneliness abounds.

ghostly thoughts haunt the still air,

translucent agonies residing comfortably in my

tormented mind.

details of the day's history churn relentlessly in my gut,

posing questions more potent than the acid they thrive in.

there, sedated by the steady rhythm of self flagellation,

I am, at last, mercifully conquered by sleep.



1 Comment


Shevi Cooper
Shevi Cooper
Dec 08, 2020

powerful!

Like
bottom of page